Story Book: "Wisdom’s Blossoms – Tales of the Saints of India"

(Age group: 12+ years old)

Wisdom Blossoms by Doug Glener and Sarat Komaragiri

An incredible storybook for children and the parents. It consists of 26 stories from the lives of Indian saints, one on each of the 26 Divine Qualities of Chapter 16 of The Bhagavad Gita. It is written by 2 devoted SRF YSS members, one of whom is from India and the other from US.

Amazon’s description:

Here is a timeless collection of traditional stories that recount the personal spiritual journeys and true acts of selflessness by saints from various religious traditions indigenous to India, including Buddhism, Hinduism, Jainism, Sikhism, and Sufism. The authors present a diverse selection of these inspirational tales—about both men and women saints, from a variety of time periods, and from all over India—and make them relevant for a modern audience. The stories reveal that, despite their perceived differences, the same spiritual principles underlie all the great religious traditions.

Buy the Book

Book Details

Pages: 208
Age group: Teens and adults will enjoy reading these stories. Also, parents can tell these stories to their younger children. The book does not contain any colorful pictures but is written in an interesting manner.


  1. Fearlessness: Tegh bahadur Helps His Hindu Brothers
  2. Purity of Heart: To the Lover Thou Art Love
  3. Perseverance in Acquiring Wisdom and in Practicing Yoga: Milarepa Builds a Tower
  4. Charity: Upagupta and the Courtesan
  5. Subjugation of Senses: Vemana Mends His Ways
  6. Performance of Holy Rites: A Monk for a Day
  7. Study of the Scriptures: A Leap of Faith
  8. Self-discipline: Tulsidas Runs Off to His Wife
  9. Straightforwardness: Ramanuja Disobeys His Guru
  10. Noninjury: The Buddha and the Bandit
  11. Truthfulness: Mirabai Marries Krishna
  12. Freedom from Wrath: The Man Who Spat on a Saint
  13. Renunciation: Like Water on a Lotus Leaf
  14. Peacefulness: Two Cloths
  15. Non-slanderousness: Eight Topics of Conversation
  16. Compassion for all Creatures: The Wedding Feast That Never Was
  17. Absence of Greed: The Governor’s Last Day
  18. Gentleness: Namdev Feeds a Dog
  19. Modesty: The Flawed Pot
  20. Lack of Restlessness: Of Ledger Books and Liberation
  21. Radiance of Character: Sitamma Feeds the Poor
  22. Forgiveness: The Might of the Mighty
  23. Patience: Nandanar Waits for Lord Nataraja
  24. Cleanness: The Weaver, the Fakir, and the Pig
  25. Freedom from Hate: Upasena’s Last Breath
  26. Absence of Conceit: Adi Sankara and the Chandala

Buy the Book